The ABCs of social awkwardness

the silent wave

When writing the notes for my previous post about unsuccessful mimicking, my brain diverted suddenly, off on a tangent, kind of like it’s surfing a cognitive internet.

In my last post, I had begun to take the alphabet and run with it.  A rare moment of spontaneity indeed.

That last post had started off with:

“A”, for the Awkwardness I feel when trying to make a joke, explain an idea, or say/do pretty much anything else.

“B”, for the Boredom I’m sure they experienced when something I said or did rang hollow and empty.

“C”, for the Condescension I could in their eyes, as if they were saying, “look–you’re not cool, so just stop.”

“D”, for Disappear, which I wanted desperately to be able to do.

“E”, for the Escape route I frantically wanted to plan.

But as it turns out, there’s more…

You can probably guess what “F” is…

View original post 849 more words

One thought on “The ABCs of social awkwardness

Leave a Reply

