Autistic in the Workplace: Ableism and Interviews

So Much Stranger, So Much Darker, So Much Madder, So Much Better

When stuck in an awful job, an interview for a new job is like an oasis in a desert, a fresh taste of water amidst overwhelming thirst. The glimmer of hope that bubbles up is breathtakingly refreshing in contrast to the dull monotony of traipsing each day to a hated job. It was this breath of hope that filled me last week when I received a call to set up an interview, the first call of the sort I’ve received in quite some time. Rather than being nervous as many expected I would be, I was filled with excitement and anticipation.

When the day of the interview rolled around yesterday, I was calm and self-assured. I knew that I was as prepared as I could be and was confident I would do well. It was a different setup than I was used to. The position is listed through a staffing…

View original post 1,163 more words

Leave a Reply

