“OCD Freak”: How to confront someone about misusing the term “OCD”

My OCD Voice

ocd-freakThis semester of college I am taking a seminar called “Teaching College Science.” Each class, we discuss a research paper abouteducation or learning techniques. Since I am TA-ing Introductory Biology this semester, and hope to be a professor one day, I am really enjoying the class.

One week we were discussing note-taking strategies, and the most effective methods for studying from your notes. Everything was going as usual, right up until someone discussed they’re personal note-taking habits and started to say “it.” And by “it,” I mean something related tobeing organized and color-coordinated.

After years of hearing them together, anytime someone says this, I brace myself for what is likely coming: “I’m soooo OCD.”

“I’m so OCD” doesn’t always follow a comment about being organized, but talking about being organized usually comes before an “I’m soo OCD.” And this time it did. My classmate said, “I take notes like an…

View original post 861 more words

Leave a Reply

